Testimonials


At Sheila’s Bridal Boutique I welcome your feedback. I am always looking to improve the boutique so please leave your comments.

Thank you,

Sheila

 

Couldn't have asked for anything more beautiful

I felt like a princess in my special. I couldn't have done it without the help of Sheila! I only went to one place to look for my dress and after the fifth dress i knew I had found the one. Sheila made the whole stressful experience great! She took the time to get to know me, my style, and what I would feel great in. I loved that she had dresses specifically for plus size woman and i didn't have to worry on whether or not the dresses would fit, i knew it would! Greatest dress shopping experience of my life!

Laura McKay

The one

Once I started looking for a dress I was disheartened by the selections of stores that say they have plus size but no samples to try on. One place even said "just hold up the size 16 in front of you since it won't fit". Go to see Sheila! From the moment my mother and I arrived we felt so comfortable. Our thoughts and opinions were openly received. I tried on three dresses and when I had to go back and retry the first one, it was for sure the one! Tears and all I excitedly said yes to the dress! You will too when you meet with Sheila.

Jennifer

Dress Dress

I had the pleasure of meeting Sheila at a Small Business Event months before becoming engaged. I knew when I met her that if the need for a dress arose I wanted to work with Sheila. With being an older, second time bride in addition to not fitting the "teeny tiny dress mold", I had reservations about going to one of the other local bridal shops. I booked an appointment to meet with Sheila on a Saturday morning and another bridal salon the following day and brought along my step mom and daughter. Sheila suggested several beautiful gowns, helped me in and out of them and offered honest and thoughtful comments on each one. She helped me be open to ideas I thought I didn't want - with the best advice "Pick what makes you feel beautiful.....that's what is most important". I had tried on 4 dresses thinking that one of the first two would be what I'd land on. Cancelled out dress three and four then she suggested I try just one more........when I put it on I just knew it was MY dress! I cancelled my appointment for the following day and I'm so glad I did. I couldn't be happier with it or the personal service that I get with Sheila.

Go see Sheila! Not only does she have beautiful dresses but she is lovely to work with and she will make you feel like a beautiful bride! I can't wait to wow my groom in September!

Thank you Sheila! ( photo to follow after wedding day 😉 )

Stacey Leaist

Shiela's Bridal boutique is amazing. She is great. She listens to what you want and delivers! The first dress i tried on was the one ! I tried on a few after that but it always came back to that first dress! I had an amazing experience and highly recommend Shiela's Bridal boutique!

Amber Bryan

Supporter of "Dorothy"

This review is a long time coming however as my wedding was a surprise wedding I didn't want to take any chance that anyone would catch on.

My experience was amazing. Sheila is very inclusive and was thrilled to be assisting me find a dress for our special day. She quickly understood the importance of having a dress that complimented my wife's dress however did not look to matchy matchy. My wife isn't plus size and I didn't want to look like the topper of her cake. Sheila was amazing and suggested dresses I would have not otherwise tried on. I actually ended up with a dress completely different than I thought I would. Wouldn't have changed a thing.

Mandy Rutten

A Five Star Experience

If you are looking for customized service that is tailored to your needs and desires in finding “the” dress, then Shelia’s Bridal Boutique is for you. Shelia’s years of customer service and bridal fashion is evident the minute you enter. The boutique is spacious, clean, professional and comfortable. There are chairs available for the guests you bring with you for dress shopping.

Shelia provides a very personal, attentive to detail and relaxed dress shopping experience. Her personality is warm, inviting, respectful, kind and she is very generous with her time and assistance. Unlike some bridal chain stores, Shelia takes the time to listen to what you are looking for, what you’ve tried on, what you like and what you don’t like. She is aware of the frustrations and pressures plus-size brides experience in trying to find “the” dress. During your shopping experience she doesn’t ever rush you. She gives you the time you need to really look at the dress and discuss what you like and don’t like. When it came down to the top two dresses for me and she saw that I was stuck trying to decide between them, she gave me all the time I needed. I never felt rushed, or pushed into choosing a dress or pushed into a sale.

When I asked her opinion she was honest, kind and genuine. I respect those qualities when making an extremely important decision. The Boutique experience is always present in the one-on-one time that you have with Shelia. In the private dressing room, Shelia takes the time to ensure that the crinoline and skirt are loose and free before standing before the mirror. Once you are standing on the platform before the mirror, she takes the time to fluff and prep the skirt of the dress all the way around so the dress truly looks its best while you view yourself in it. Her boutique lighting is soft and complimentary which really helps to view the true shades of white, ivory and the reflective beading or jewel work on the dress. There are many types of veils to try on with each dress and head pieces, tiaras, headbands to complement each.

Her collection of accessories are dreamy; it’s difficult not to want them all, as many of her pieces are timeless and classic. There is something here for every bride. Shelia has bobbi pins and scrunchies to help pull up your hair in a mock trial for trying on veils and head pieces. Having super thin hair, this was a huge advantage for me, when trying on veils and head pieces. This is a five star experience when it comes to bridal dress shopping and was well worth the drive and time spent to find my perfect dress.

Lauren

Amazing experience

Shelia was amazing. As we walked in the door she was very welcoming especially since we had a larger party. She hand picked a few dresses with consideration of my budget,and overall idea. It was the second dress that I tried on that Shelia picked and I just lit up knowing that, that's my dress.

She was very understanding and able to accommodating when I said I wanted to lose some weight. Other stores I was told just get the size you are now since every bride says they want to lose weight.

I would recommend Shelia to anyone and everyone. Amazing overall experience.

Sarah Humphrey

Great experience!

Being a plus size bride can be difficult when shopping for a dress as the boutiques just don't carry our size. Sheila has found her niche market and is the place to go for anyone looking for a plus size gown. Sheila was so patient and accommodating and I'm so happy I found my perfect dress at Sheila's!

Julia Richter

Sheila was fantastic. She spent so much time with me and I tried on so many dresses until I found my dress.

Aida

So thankful for Sheila!

I am so happy that I found Sheila when I was searching for a plus size wedding gown. The selection at stores in Toronto was dismal and the whole process a disappointment. Enter Sheila... She was patient, had a great selection and made me feel extremely comfortable. I ended up buying the first dress she picked for me to try on. Thank you Sheila!

Natasha Hrycauk

Perfect Fit

I got engaged in December 2014, I wasn't seriously looking for my dress when I started going to wedding shoppes as we still had lots of time until our September 2016 wedding! Well, as the saying goes "time flies by" and I needed to find my dress. I had found a few I liked from different places but each one was missing something, or if I tweaked it or changed something it could maybe work. I went to a few bridal boutiques which really discouraged me.. I found the selection very few, I am also bigger at the hips which is hard to slip into a dress and since I am claustrophobic I was certainly not putting all that material over my head! A friend that was with me that day, could see I had just about enough and suggested Sheila's. Said it was a plus size gown shoppe so I might have more luck.

Sheila was fantastic. First off I am not great with cats and she was not even the slightest bit hesistant with putting hers away for the time we were there. She didn't judge. As you know, trying on wedding dresses is very ummm personal, and she didn't make me feel uncomfortable or anything!! Considering it is out of her home, the selection was a pretty good range.

Needless to say, I said YES to the dress!!

Lenita Da Silva

While searching for plus size wedding dresses online I came across Sheila's bridal boutique in Ancaster. I couldn't believe that there was actually a plus size wedding dress store in Canada let alone just outside of Toronto. My wedding is not until 2017 but I decided why not try some on see how they look. I have a huge family and when I made this appointment a lot of people wanted to come. Our group including myself was 7 adults 2 kids and a baby. Sheila was very nice about my big entourage and very accommodating. When I first looked at all the dresses I noticed they were all so beautiful and classy and there were SOO MANY!! Sheila hand picks all the dresses in the shop and let me tell you she knows how to pick em. I ended up falling in love with the second dress I tried on even tho I wasn't planning on it!! I look forward to working with Sheila through my whole dress journey. If you are a plus size bride, who wants an all around amazing wedding dress shopping experience, you must book an appointment with Sheila's Bridal Boutique. I promise you won't be disappointed!!!! Thank you so much again Sheila!! Your the best!!!

Tula Dimitracopoulos

SOOO IMPRESSED!!!!

So I was recommended to Shelia's boutique almost 2 years ago when I was starting to look for shoes for a bridal party that I was in. I actually never got a chance to get there for this purpose but we did speak through email and Shelia was more than happy to let me know that she did have styles, sizes and WIDTHS (I am a double wide foot) that I was looking for in stock and she was able to dye shoes to the grey colour that I would need.

Then about 2 months ago, I was looking with my friend for her upcoming wedding for her bridal dress. She was having a really frustrating time in all of the dress stores that we had already gone into, may it be the service or just the lack of sizes to try on. While my friend was in the change room of one of the competitors shops, very frustrated and feeling as though she had not had any luck for a long time; I decided that I was going to email Shelia and see if she by any chance had a quick appointment for us to just come and browse.

Shelia emailed me back within about 15 to 20mins and she let me know that she does have one quick opening today. She let me know that we might only be able to try on a couple of dresses but for sure to come on down and check them out. I was overjoyed by this news!!

My friend was a little skeptical when we drove up to a house being the address. However, once inside and brought to the boutique I could tell that my friend right away felt at ease. My friend explained what she wanted and just the way that she had been treated before. Shelia was so friendly and calm, she was able to pull out a few beautiful dresses.

My friend actually tried on two different ones however fell in love with the first one and had to try it on again. I saw her face light up to that "say YES to the dress moment" and she was so happy. Of course her mom needed to see it, so she made an appointment for the next day.

The next day i received the very excited text that she did pick this dress! I am so happy for her! I am soo happy that we were able to make this happen!! I am so happy that Shelia was so accommodating!!

Honestly I can't thank her enough because me and one of the other bridesmaids ended up trying on some vales for ourselves and Shelia was awesome about it! I definitely would recommend her boutique again and again!!!

Zina Krawiec

Plus-size?? No problem!!! 🙂

As a typical plus-size bride, I began my wedding dress shopping a little nervous that I would have a hard time finding sample dresses to even try on. Although it ended up not being as bad as I thought it would, I was still very limited with what I could try on. One place had me put the hanger around my neck to "visualize" what the dress would look like... who would ever buy a dress that they can't even try on!! I was almost ready to "settle" for a dress that I did like, but didn't really get that feeling everyone said you will get when you find the right one. Then I heard about Sheila's.... and thank god I did! I was able to try on every single dress she had in stock, and even better, most were my size!!! It was such an amazing experience, so comfortable and laid back. So many different styles that would fit all shapes and sizes. Needless to say, I found THE dress and couldn't be any happier with it!!!! Thank you so much Sheila!!! It truly was an amazing experience! 🙂

Kim

A Must For Plus Size Brides!

Before I started looking for a wedding dress, I really didn't think it would be that hard, especially living in a huge city like Toronto. Given that I'm a plus sized 18 bride who is fiercely determined not to settle for any dress, and I embrace my body, I didn't imagine that it would be that difficult. Fast-forward 5 bridal dress stores in Toronto and a few typical plus size bride experiences later (when the store advertises as plus size and only has 3 gowns for you to try on, and asks you to squeeze into dresses too small), I finally decided to make the trip out to Ancaster to Sheila's Bridal Boutique. I really wish in hindsight that I had visited Sheila's store first, instead of wasting my time at a whole bunch of other stores. Not only is Sheila patient, warm and professional, but she aims to find you a dress that makes you feel beautiful, and doesn't pressure you in any way to make a decision on the spot. She had so many dresses and styles to try on (all in sizes that I could fit into!) and the prices were so reasonable. This was by FAR, the best experience I had shopping for a wedding dress. Not only was my appointment personalized and focused, but Sheila found me the perfect wedding gown when I didn't think I would ever find it (the very last gown she pulled for me to try on!). Needless to say if you are a plus sized bride in Toronto, the GTA or anywhere in Ontario, you must make the trip to Sheila's Bridal Boutique in Ancaster... the drive is worth it, you'll be glad you did, and chances are you are going to find that perfect dress! Thank you Sheila!!

Stephanie Liu

#1 Plus-Size Dress Boutique!!

Being bigger my whole life, I have dreaded dressing up. You see the tv shows of brides finding their perfect dress, and to be honest, I never really believed it. Until I met Sheila and had my first (and last) wedding dress experience.

Since I'm super self-conscious about my body, I tend to be very picky about what I wear. Sheila made me very comfortable, could tell when I wasn't pleased with what I was wearing, and would also offer an honest opinion when asked for one. After seeing what I was liking and didn't like, she led me to my dress! I put it on, and had one of those "tv moments", and cried, said "yes to the dress".... the whole nine yards. I am still pleased with the dress and how accommodating Sheila has been.

For anyone in the market for a wedding dress or even wedding accessories, look no further! Sheila is a "fairy god mother" in disguise!

Thank you Sheila for all you have done for me! For that, I am forever grateful.

Heather Pipe

Worth the drive!!!! All Plus-size brides need to try!

I would firstly like to say I had an absolutely amazing time shopping for dresses at Sheila’s. Due to my body shape and size I was nervous to look for a wedding dress. Right away Sheila was very attentive to my needs and what I was looking for. She pulled some amazing dresses and for the first time I LOVED the way my body looked in a dress! I ended up buying the first dress I tried on (I did try on about many others just to be sure 🙂 ). Throughout the whole process I felt very comfortable. Sheila was incredibly patient and very helpful in the decision making process. In the end I found the most amazing dress. I cannot thank Sheila enough!!!!!

Rebecca Pinch

I have a very challenging figure as I am only 4 foot 10" and plus sized. Sheila listened to the things I liked in other dresses and found me the perfect dress first try (of course I tried on five more that also looked and felt amazing). I tried 3 other Bridal shops and none compared to the level of excellence Sheila provides. If you go to Sheila's Bridal you will find the dress of your dreams at a price that is incredible given the quality of the products and friendly service she offers. I could not have had a better experience. Thank you Sheila!!!!!!

Shana Coolen

What was supposed to be one of the best times of my life, I was dreading the dress shopping experience. From the second I met Sheila at the Wedding Show in Hamilton, I knew she was God sent! She gave me hope and assured me that she would be able to help me find my perfect dress without feeling self conscious, and she did just that! She was wonderful and had a large variety of dresses that I could actually fit into to try on! So in one trip I bought my perfect dress, veil, head piece and fur jacket, all at a great price! I can't thank you enough for making this a wonderful experience that I will never forget!

Joanna Brunogallo

A must for all full size brides!

I have to say I was dreading going wedding dress shopping. From my years of watching Say Yes to the Dress and other bride shows, I had visions of being stuffed into one of the shops few big dresses and having to choose which one looked less hideous. My friend found Sheila's Bridal Boutique online so I decided she would be our first stop. Being from Toronto, it was a bit of a drive, but decided to make a day of it. Not having much faith, I booked an appointment at Davids Bridal for a few hours after. First off, just walking in, I felt immediately at ease. Sheila is such a wonderful, welcoming woman. She pulled out 5 dresses for me to try on and all but one could have been "my" dress. They were gorgeous! And not just a dress in a large size. They looked hand picked to make a plus size bride look beautiful! Needless to say, I purchased everything, dress, veil, hairband, and earrings as everything was very well priced as well as beautiful. For someone who was dreading their dress shopping, I had the most amazing experience and it was all thanks to Sheila and her dresses. Sheila's Bridal Boutique is a must for all plus size brides! It doesn't matter how far away you live, make the trip, it is so worth it! Thank you Sheila!

Kelly Barker

Sheila made my experience a life-changing one!

I am a young bride and I have spent my entire life trying to "fit in" (pun intended) with society's idea of beauty. In my 22 years it seems I have yet to succeed in that... I went about dress shopping prepared to be disappointed. Prepared to be stuffed into a poofy, shapeless, lump of material that people figured I belonged in. However, I had zero intention of wearing anything like that on my big day. I am a tall, full-figured and curvy woman and dang it, I'm gonna show that off on my wedding day! I first tried David's Bridal.
What a nightmare. I felt they just wanted to make a sale and they did try to put me in one of those dresses they figured would cover me up the most. Assuming I wanted that. I left that day feeling discouraged, but determined to find a bridal store that what actually show me the kind of dresses I wanted to try on. I did some research and found Sheila's. What a difference! She has an amazing selection. You can find everything you'd ever need! Not only that, but she herself was amazing. She was kind, attentive and above all made sure I found exactly what I was looking for and nothing less. And I did! I chose the most beautiful, strapless dropped waist gown. Everything I was looking for and more! It couldn't have been a more beautiful experience and I have told every curvy bride I know about her. I almost wish I could buy another dress for the reception just so I could experience it all again. Highly reccomend her above everyone else! She gives you all her attention and she actually genuinely cares. Thank you Sheila!!! Xoxo Jennilee

Jennilee Wheeler

A must for plus size brides!

Sheila and her bridal boutique are both absolutely amazing. I could not have asked for a more relaxed and comfortable dress shopping experience and recommend all plus size ladies out there to make this their first (and most likely your only) dress shopping stop. Your dress selection is stylish, with such a range in dress type and size, and all so reasonably priced! Since having purchased my dress with Sheila, I have been to some of the big bridal stores for bridesmaid shopping and will be forever grateful that I had Sheila's honest, sweet, and professional attentive care over the chaotic mess that bridal stores offer!
You made this easier than I could have ever imagined!
Thank you Sheila for what you do!

Ashley Frank

You made us feel like we were trying on dresses at home!

Thank you Sheila, for your time and expertise. We had a great time playing dress up in your beautiful gowns. Now we only have to choose!
Thank you for your down to earth no pressure atmosphere!
I have already reccomended you to others!

Carol Cooper
Kinette Club of London

I would like to take the opportunity to give many thanks to Sheila for an incredible experience! When the time came to go shopping for a wedding dress i was so excited until the actual fact set it that i was going to have to physically go to a dress shop and try the gowns on. Being a plus size women brought on all kinds of new fears.. Will the dress fit, will I like my limted choices. All fears that any bride should not experience. I came across Sheilas boutique and was overwhelmed with excitement. The reviews were lovely the dress choices seemed promising. I took my chance crossed my fingers and made my appt. WOW am I happy I did. My dress shopping trip which I travelled four hrs for was AMAZING! Sheilas boutique was wonderful. Tons of choices, beautiful gowns, gorgeous jewelery and the shoes oh my goodness!!! Sheila was so incredible. Shes such a patient and warm woman. She pulled the most beautiful gowns for me. I fell in love with the very first dress she brought in!!!! Each gown selection was stunning! I felt beautiful and was overwhelmed with joy. If you are a plus size women please please do not hesitate to visit
Sheilas boutique before any other, you will not regret it! What a truly amazing experience for me! I said yes to the dress! Thank you Sheila from the bottom of my
heart. I will now be a very happy beautiful bride!

Debbie

amazing experience!!!!

I am a mature plus size bride who was looking for an amazing dress. I had gone to other stores that said they had "lots of plus dresses"- their idea was at size 12 or " just put your arm thru the sleeves and hold it up in the mirror". My experience at Shelia's was great! I could put on anything in the shop and we were given her undivided attention. Thanks to Shelia I got an amazing dress for and amazing day!

Heather Leitch Voke

Thank you!

I am a plus size girl who is all about style. I tried a few different shops. Sheila had a great variety of dresses to try on. It was such a nice experience to be trying on a dresses where you are the only bride in the shop.
I found my dream dress at Sheila's bridal shop for a great price!!!

Thank you Sheila for understanding not all brides wear size 10 and under!!! In my head I was so worried about dress shopping and I thought i would just have to settle on a dress that i like and not find the one that I would love.

"I love my dress!"

Joy

I said YES to the dress

I went to Sheila's from out of town looking for a wedding dress. She was more than amazing and patient with me and she catered to my needs and wants down to a T. I was able to find the perfect dress and accessories for my special day. It was the best experience I have ever had shopping for anything and I would recommend her to any one that is shopping for a dress. Thank you so much Sheila for making my wedding day extra special with the perfect dress.

Stella Fula

I have been meaning to write a review since I bought my dress at Sheila's Boutique. Before I went to Sheila's, I had been to two other bridal stores and being a "plus size" bride, I was stressed about it. The first one I was completely overwhelmed because it was way too busy and I did not feel like I had the attention of the sales associate assisting me. The second store was nice, I just did not get that "feeling".

Enter Sheila's Bridal. From the first email I received from her to the day I went and picked up my dress, she was so friendly, supportive and just plain amazing. She has a great selection and is willing to give her advice and opinion if asked... basically she is honest and that is what is important to me. I felt completely at home with her and I thank her for making the wedding dress purchase fun and easy. I absolutely LOVE my dress and cannot wait until August 29th, 2015. I should add that she also had the perfect vail!!!

Thank you Sheila for just being you! Sorry it has taken me so long to post.

Patti Stumpf

Patti Stumpf
When I went to Sheila's looking for shoes I was so happy to see such a selection. she helped me find the most comfortable heels i have every worn and i am so thankful. Sheila is so friendly and nice and i am very happy to have gone to her shop.
Elizabeth

Denise on August 20, 2014 at 6:19 PM said:
I would like to start off by saying that I had the most wonderful experience finding my wedding gown and it was all thanks to Sheila! From the moment we stepped into your salon you were nothing but kind and thoughtful. You allowed me to take my take choosing the right dress.; never once adding pressure . It was the most fun I have ever had shopping! Thank you thank you thank you! You made, what I thought would be a stressful experience, a time that I will never forget! I cannot wait to come in for my first fitting!
Thank you again
Love Denise!
Anne Gemmill on August 13, 2014 at 4:40 PM said:
What a pleasant experience it was to find the perfect pair of shoes to go with my mother-of-the-bride dress.
Sheila was so kind and accomodating. There was everything from bridal dresses,veils and accessories to shoes. I needed to find a pair of shoes that could be dyed to match my dress. There was no problem getting that arranged. She even had shoelory(I probably have that one spelled incorrectly) and heel covers which I also got.
If I can feel so great about shoes I can only imagine how good she must make her bridal customers feel.
Thank you Sheila
Bre on April 24, 2014 at 7:50 AM said:
Words cannot express how wonderful and warm Sheila is. She is so knowledgeable, patient, and kind. Sheila’s shop was my first dress shopping experience, and simply can’t be beat. She made myself and my family feel so welcome, never rushed us for a second, and truly felt like another member of the family!! The selection of gowns are simply beautiful, as are her many many accessories, shoes, etc. Not having to worry about fitting into the samples is just the icing on the cake.Sheila- thank you SO much for being you! Getting married is such a special, magical time, and all girls should be lucky enough to have you be a part of their journey. I will never forget my experience at your shop, and how beautiful you made me feel.
Gary Direnfeld, MSW, RSW on March 30, 2014 at 7:07 AM said:

I am a social worker and in the interest of self-disclosure Sheila is my sister-in-law.However, I want to say that Sheila offers an extraordinary service to women who might otherwise feel self-conscious about their appearance and for whom the selection of bridal gowns is limited elsewhere.Brides come to the privacy of Sheila’s home by appointment to find a selection of gowns from which to chose. The only other person or persons present are those who the bride chooses to join her.The brides enjoys the privacy and one-to-one attention that makes them feel both special and at ease. This takes the tension away from concerns of feeling judged or being exposed or concerned for the impressions of others, when one should be able to concentrate on oneself.Having a selection of gowns from which to chose then offers the bride the sense that she doesn’t have to settle for the one or two options that may be available elsewhere, but truly chose amongst a variety of appealing gowns.I couldn’t recommend Sheila’s Bridal Boutique more highly and not just for the selection, but because you are served by Sheila, a lovely woman herself who takes tremendous pride and joy contributing to a bride’s special day.Gary Direnfeld, MSW, RSW

Jessica C. on March 24, 2014 at 3:38 PM said:
I am so thankful that I went to Sheila’s to find my wedding dress!She was very accommodating to me and my family that came with me. She never pushed me into trying things on that I didn’t want, nor did she try and push a sale on me.I always had this thought in the back of mind like, how am I going to find a dress that makes me happy, and that I feel comfortable in? Being plus sized, it was always a worry that I would have to just pick a certain style of dress because that’s all that would have been offered to me.But at Sheila’s, there were so many different styles to try on! I ended up picking the last dress that I tried on, which was completely different from what I always thought I would be wearing, but it was an instant connection for me to the dress.I was so nervous about looking for a dress since that day I had gotten engaged, and probably before that, but going to Sheila’s calmed all my nerves. She was understanding, calm, rational, and extremely helpful.For anyone trying to decide if it’s worth it to pay Sheila a visit, trust me when I say, it is so worth it to go and look! I’m so happy that I did, and I can’t wait to walk down the aisle in my gorgeous dress to marry the love of my life.

 

Jennifer M. on March 24, 2014 at 6:58 AM said:
I came across Sheila’s boutique shortly after becoming engaged a year ago. However, living in Ajax (almost 2 hours from Ancaster), I thought to myself, “How hard can shopping for a plus size gown be?!” I was so naive. My first shopping experience was at a large chain bridal store. They had dresses that fit me, and were inexpensive, but the experience and gowns both lacked the personal touch and pizazz I was hoping for. I did not feel like a bride. However, because the gowns fit, and were inexpensive, I ended up purchasing one and tried to convince myself that it was my dress so that I didn’t have to shop anymore. In fact, getting into the car on the way home, I instantly starting crying to my fiance,saying that I bought the wrong dress.
I finally decided that the purchased dress was not the one, and continued my search. What. A. Nightmare. Either dress shops had a very limited selection of gowns shoved in the back of the store, or they had the typical “fat girl” dresses that did not show off any curves, at all, or the consultants tried to squish me into dresses far too small on me and then apologizing when defeated. Not fun. I figured that maybe I wasn’t meant to have that bridal moment and looked into seamstresses who could drastically alter my original gown.
After visiting Sheila’s website again, I felt that I needed to give it a last ditch effort to find a gown. If I didn’t find something here, that’s it, I’d settle.
If only I would have just visited the boutique in the first place, all of my uncomfortable shopping experiences wouldn’t have happened. Although, perhaps I had to go through the horrors in order to truly appreciate my experience with Sheila.
Visiting Sheila’s boutique was the most comfortable, and pleasurable dress shopping experience I’ve had. There was no “plus size” section crammed in the corner. There were more than enough gowns to try on. There were no other brides to compare myself to during the appointment. I felt comfortable in my own skin and was actually able to see myself in the mirror rather than comparing myself to anyone else.
Sheila took the time to listen, and helped me through the painful decision of choosing a dress- painful only because all of the dresses I tried on looked SO beautiful that I wished I could buy them all!
Even though she knew which dress was the one, she let me flip flop between two dresses (trying each on at least twice), without trying to push a sale.
I did have my “bridal” moment and felt butterflies as soon as I saw myself in my gown.
Sheila truly understands the trials and tribulations of plus size brides and has created her boutique to cater exclusively to women with curves. The gowns are beautiful and flattering.
If you want to forego any uncomfortable dress shopping experiences, visit Sheila first, it’s well worth it.
Kate on March 18, 2014 at 7:31 PM said:

Sheila’s Boutique was wonderful. I made an appointment to see what she had, not really expecting to find something. Being plus sized I’m used to never finding clothes that I like, let alone love and I thought Sheila’s was going to be a similar experience. I was very wrong.Sheila was warm and inviting, wasn’t pushy, listened to what I had to say and picked out a few dresses for me to try as I was open to suggestions. In the end there were 3 dresses that made me feel incredible and we narrowed it down to one. I hadn’t anticipated on finding 1 dress, let alone 3 that I adored.She has a good variety of dresses and accessories and I would encourage anyone who’s apprehensive about dress shopping to give Sheila’s a try. I’m so glad that I did and I can’t wait to see my dress.Thanks again!

CC on February 7, 2014 at 3:39 PM said:
Sheila, you made shopping for a bridal dress enjoyable!
You were so welcoming & helpful with every part of the process.
Thanks especially for ordering the extra material, and suggesting seamstress, Merike. I’ve passed your name on to several friends already.
Janine Marczak on January 20, 2014 at 6:11 PM said:
I had a wonderful experience shopping with Sheila. She was very accommodating and patient with me. She offered me many options for shoes and accessories. While I was waiting for my special ordered shoes to come in, Sheila let me borrow a pair to use for my dress fitting which was extremely helpful!!Thank you Sheila!
I can’t wait for my big day!Janine
Susan on January 13, 2014 at 4:45 PM said:
I just have to say before Sheilas Bridal Boutique I went to a Bridal shop in Waterdown and totally deflated with selection and service. My sister found Sheilas Bridal Boutique online and we made an appointment during an evening. The care and attention given is of the highest quality and she made my experience what it should have been a complete joy. I found my dress, veil and hair band.
Sheila’s is a full service boutique for the bride, I am so glad my sister found her. I look forward to my next visit for my fitting 🙂
Thank You Sheila
Alanna on December 8, 2013 at 10:23 PM said:
Imagine wanting your special day to be perfect.
Imagine wanting to find a dress that helped you look as beautiful as you feel.
Imagine finding a person that helped you find the perfect dress, and finding someone that truly cared about making you happy and your wedding complete.
Sheila’s bridal was amazing from the very first meeting to picking up my perfect dress. Thank you Sheila for everything. I recommend you to every bride that will listen.
Jennifer on October 23, 2013 at 11:44 AM said:
Though my May wedding has long passed, I have meant to come back here and leave a comment. After searching soooo many places for shoes, I came across Sheila on the internet. When I met her, she was welcoming and helpful. She had a great collection of shoes and accessories! AND I found the first pair that I loved!!!. They were comfortable! ..and could be dyed the shade of purple I wanted (they looked amazing in the photos!). She even lent me her display pair for my fitting while the ones I purchased were being dyed. I also found EXACTLY what I was looking for in jewelry. Thanks Sheila for a great experience!
Caroline on August 31, 2013 at 7:35 AM said:
We went to Sheila’s store just yesterday evening and were able to finally find the perfect dress for my sister (the bride). So far, this was one of the very few places that caters to finding a really great plus-sized gown. She made us feel welcome the minute we walked in. She was also very helpful/insightful with all her comments and suggestions. I would highly recommend this boutique to anyone. Her prices are also very reasonable.

 

Catherine on July 9, 2013 at 6:50 PM said:
Sheila is a hidden gem in Hamilton. She helped me find 2 beautiful pairs of shoes, and was so kind. With size 11 feet, shoe shopping is always a chore and means enduring rude sales staff and lousier selection. Sheila was a complete treasure and I couldn’t have asked for a better experience! Highly recommend her.
Shannon on July 3, 2013 at 9:47 AM said:
After my silly decision to wait three weeks before my wedding to begin looking for a dress, I visit Sheila. She gave up personal time on her long weekend to accommodate me because I was travelling from out of town to get to her shop. She was kind, comforting and honest. I found a dress, a veil for an amazing and extremely affordable price. After all this, she even took more time to help me find a tailor who would help me with rushing the alterations to make it in time for my wedding. Choosing Sheila was the best choice for me….she saved the day! I highly recommend her!
Anonymous on May 2, 2013 at 11:29 AM said:
In one short visit, I got my wedding shoes, purse and garter! Sheila was very helpful and I will definitely recommend her to all my friends! Wish we had found her sooner!
Julie Troake on February 14, 2013 at 4:12 PM said:
I bought my shoes & jewellery from Sheila, and I absolutely love them! They are the perfect addition to my dress and the look is complete now! I had a wonderful experience and Sheila was extremely helpful and friendly! Also, I was delighted with the prices, very reasonable and affordable!!!! Thank you so much
Michelle Armellini on February 1, 2013 at 4:19 PM said:
I bought my dress from Sheila last year. It was the easiest shopping experience I had ever had, and felt at ease in the shop. Great atmosphere, and I would recommend all my friends to come here.
Christina on August 9, 2012 at 3:35 PM said:
I have not actually met Sheila, but spoke to her on the phone today, calling in regards to a shoe designer that she carries- Benjamin Walk! I instantly felt a connection to her, as she was very sweet, knowledgable and helpful on the phone. The wedding party and I definitely look forward to meeting you. Thanks for your very professional help!
Stephanie Borse on July 30, 2012 at 12:31 PM said:
We met Sheila today when we came in to shop for my sisters wedding dress! She was sooo wonderful to work with! Very friendly and there for your every need! There were lots of dresses to choose from and we even found THE ONE:) including her shoes, veil and all the jewelry! I highly recommend this shop!!!!!! Thank you so much Sheila for helping my sister, you not only found her dress but gave her a wonderful experience:)
Thanks again: Stephanie and Jennifer( the bride to be)
Rachael Snow on February 14, 2012 at 5:18 PM said:
I met Sheila today when I came in with my Mother and Daughter. Sheila was amazing! She was so attentive and helpful! The best thing of all, she was honest! Which made choosing my gown so much easier! The selection of dresses at Sheila`s Bridal was so great! They were all so elegant and beautiful and so many varieties for different figures. Thank you so much Sheila for helping me and thanks to you, I said YES to the DRESS!!!
* = Required Field

What is your fullname?

Fill in your email address

What is your company name?

Does your company have a website?

Describe our company in a few short words


What do you think about our company?


Do you have a photo we can use?

*I agree that this testimonial can be published.